Brief Outline of the Book of Revelation:

- I. Prologue (vv. 1-8)
- II. The Body of the Letter (Rev. 1:9-22:5)
 - A. "Things that Are" (1:9-3:22) The first cycle
 - 1. Christ among his churches (Rev 1:9-20)
 - 2. Exhortations to the Seven Churches (Rev. 2:1-3:22)
 - B. Things That Shall Take Place "After This" (Rev. 4:1-22:5)
 - 1. The Scroll and its Seven Seals (Rev. 4:1-8:1) The second cycle
 - 2. The Seven Angels with Seven Trumpets (Rev. 8:2-11:19)-The third cycle
 - 3. Seven Symbolic Histories (Rev. 12:1-14:20)— The fourth cycle
 - a. The Dragon (Rev 12:7-12)
 - b. The Woman (Rev 12:13-17)
 - c. The Beast From the Sea (Rev 13:1-10)
 - d. The Beast From the Earth: The False Prophet (Rev 13:11-18)
 - e. The 144,000 (Rev 14:1-5)
 - f. Three Angelic Messengers (Rev 14:6-11)
 - g. One Like the Son of Man (Rev 14:12-20)
 - 4. Seven Bowls of Wrath (Rev. 15:1-16:21)— The fifth cycle
 - 5. Judgment on Babylon, the Vindication of the Church, and the Return of Christ (Rev. 17:1-19:21)—**The sixth cycle**
 - a. Judgment upon Babylon (vv. 17:1-19:10)
 - b. Christ destroys the Beast and the False Prophet (vv. 19:11-21)
 - 6. The Reign of the Saints, the Last Judgment and the New Jerusalem (Rev. 20:1-22:5)— **The seventh cycle**
 - a. The Binding of Satan (vv. 20:1-6)
 - b. The Defeat of the Dragon (vv. 7-10)
 - c. The Defeat of Death (20:11-15)
 - d. All Things New (Rev. 21:1-22:5)
- III. The Epilogue (Rev 22:6-21)